Reflection

The Peace Corps was created to promote world peace and friendship. It has three goals-

Every six months, Peace Corps Volunteers all over the world are required to document every aspect of their volunteer efforts on a daunting document known as the VRF or “Volunteer Reporting Form.”

It is onerous and detailed and while I completely understand why it is necessary, it’s also frustrating. Don’t get me wrong, I love getting the chance to brag about myself, my students and the activities I’ve been up to at site, my adorable millennial self is also all about the fact that I can use my Instagram and blog as a “Third-goal” activity, but it’s tedious and time consuming and also I hate it.

So, I’m taking a break to work on my “third goal” and to reflect, as I’ve been asked to do.

Peace Corps has three goals.

1. To help the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained men and women.

  1. To help the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained men and women.

I accomplish that goal by teaching with my counterparts, running my English clubs and helping run camps and workshops that train teachers in new teaching methods and teaching students about English and other topics.

 

 

2. To help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the people served.

2. To help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the people served.

I accomplish that goal any time I talk about American holidays, American foods or American traditions with my students, my host family or anyone here that I interact with. That’s right folks, when I made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and watched Guy Fieri taco truck videos with my students, I was also working towards one of the goals of the peace corps. When made March Madness brackets and I taught them what a “bracket buster” was, also accomplishing a goal. These may seem like silly examples, but they ar3. To help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans.e different aspects of American culture that I have loved having the opportunity to share.

3. To help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans.

If you know me, or you follow me on any form of social media, you know I’m all about social media. I majored in communications in college and took classes like “Interactive journalism” which could have also been called “how to twitter 101.” I have the same handle for my Instagram, twitter, and blog for ‘branding purposes.’ In reality, it’s more for consistency and to make it easier for people to find me.

I appreciate all three goals, but this one has a special place in my heart. Since I’ve been here, I’ve had countless moments where something happens, I’m at an event or I see something take place and I just wish someone else was there to experience it, to recognize what is happening. My blog, Instagram etc., give me the chance to do just that. I get to document my experiences and show them to people that likely had no little to no knowledge of Ukraine and Ukrainian culture. I love it! From playing dress up in traditional Ukrainian clothes, to beautiful architecture, to performances, I love getting to share my experiences with family and friends at home.

I consider myself lucky to be able to have these experiences, so having the chance to share them is a no brainer. I hope if you’re reading this, you’ve enjoyed what I’ve shared so far and you’re looking forward to me oversharing for the next 20 months of my life.

Leave a Reply

