SeeWhitRun

I started running in my sweet little village. My first run was on a Sunday afternoon. It had been a little warmer and I had been wary of running on the ice, so this seemed like the perfect day to finally give it a shot. I didn’t consider how much mud accumulates when about a foot of snow melts in a day or two. My crisp clean Nike Frees that are mostly used to running on pavement or solid trails weren’t ready for the mud, but the run felt good.

Running in the village is a unique experience, and I learned a few things that I’ve mentioned in other posts, but I’ll repeat them here:

  1. End to end, my village is about two miles
  2. Someone here has a Saint Bernard
  3. When it’s warm enough to not be icy, it’s also warm enough got everything to by muddy
  4. Seeing me running is confusing to most people here

My second run was in the snow, which was more confusing to the people in village.

  1. Running on snow is a lot like running on sand
  2. If you run REALLY fast, your students will be impressed and give you candy
  3. If people are staring at you and you look them straight in the eye and say “Good Day” in Romanian, they won’t stop staring, but they might smile
  4. Your host mom (at work) will know you went for a run even before you get back from your run

I just registered for a half marathon in Chernivtsi in May that I’ll be running with a few other PCVs (Peace Corps Volunteers). This will be my third half and I am excited to start training again. It’s different to be training in an environment like this. The other races I have run were in the fall, so I trained over the summer when the weather was fairly consistent and I didn’t have to deal with elements like mud, snow and ice, but my Yak-Trax and I are up for the challenge.

The most ‘Peace Corps’ moment I’ve had since arriving to this country was probably when we didn’t have water for a few days, but even that was pretty uneventful. We have a well, so we used water from that and I didn’t wash my hair for a few days.

Leave a Reply

