Crafting with limited resources

Before we swore-in, Peace Corps Ukraine gave each of us this awesome book filled with activities and speaking board games. My kids have already loved them, but we didn’t have dice to go with them!

Luckily, I have spent approximately a quarter of my life on pinterest and decided I could do something about that. I’ve got some regular-sized dice that work with the older kids, but I wanted something for the younger kids, which made me think giant dice!

16358704_1355256921212629_515447214_n

I’ve already used these in almost all my classes and they are A HIT! Kids of basically all ages loved getting to chuck them around the classroom and they’re pretty durable, so they could handle it. I think it helped motivate the kids and they got to move around a bit, which is always good, especially for the younger ones.

Here’s a simple tutorial on how to make your own giant dice

 

 

Materials needed:

  • Cardboard (bonus if you get it for free because the Nova Poshta guy was maybe hitting on you?), you need enough cardboard to make 6 squares
  • Scissors/knife (if you’re left-handed like me, cutting cardboard with scissors sucks, so I’d recommend the knife)
  • Marker
  • Ruler
  • Paper
  • Duct tape

Packing tape

  1. Start by deconstructing your cardboard box. It needs to lay flat. img_1908
  2. Measure out the size square that you need. Your cube can be any size, but each square needs to be the same. Mine were about 7×7.img_1911
  3. Cut your squares. img_1912
  4. Lay out your squares. img_1915
  5. Tape the edges together. This can get tricky once your squares start to become a shape, but leaning them against a wall or something while you get the others into place helps.
  6. The trickiest part of the whole adventure is attaching the last piece. I put my tape down first and then slid my fingers underneath to try and get it to stick as best I could, but it’s not the end of the world if they don’t stick that well because you’ll be taping the outside as well.
  7. Tape all the outside joints
  8. You can leave it at that and just write 1-6 on your cube, or you can make your die a bit fancier if you’d like. Mine looked pretty janky at that point, plus I knew mine would be used quite a bit and I wanted it to be able to stand up to whatever my crazy little 4th formers could (literally) throw at it, so I decided to add a bit more.
  9. I covered mine with regular paper, much like wrapping a present, added the dots like on a traditional die.16343866_1355291244542530_1783120864_n
  10. Lastly, I covered mine with packing tape. Literally covered every inch of the thing. That way, if the floor happens to be wet or dirty, the die will still be in good shape.

I can say that this thing has taken some hits, but it’s been loved by my students so far. I got some interesting looks as I carried it through the village on bazaar day and through the school. A few brave students asked me what it was. I’m excited to see how I can use it for other activities!

Leave a Reply

