See ya later…

A couple of weeks ago, was the last week. .

I went back to Spokane for a week to walk in my college graduation. This post is long-overdue, but it took some time to figure out what I really wanted to say. Those who were with me in Spokane will understand what I mean when I say that that last week truly was a rollercoaster.

It involved an unfortunate trip to the ER, a couple of hikes, run in with local authorities, many tears and saying goodbye to friends who have become family.

“But Whitney, you graduated in January and we know this because you talk about it all the damn time and we’re really sick of hearing it…”

I would like to officially apologize for constantly mentioning how I graduated a semester early. I know it was super annoying and I am finally recognizing it.

This last week was the last week. We did it. I’m super proud of everyone that walked across that stage on Sunday and everyone that I had the pleasure of knowing these last four years.

This is a short post because I don’t have a whole lot to say. Our accomplishments speak for themselves and we are all moving on. That’s hard.

This is my two cents for all recent college grads, and to my friends at Whitworth especially. I’ve had a couple of months to deal with these feelings of confusion, sadness and excitement. These are the lessons I’m taking away from Whitworth.

Whether you are employed, unemployed, underemployed, whatever’s next for you, take the time to enjoy the moment you are in. Self-care is huge. Perform at your highest and best, but not at the expense of your health or your relationships. Surround yourself with people who value you and love you. Move on from people who don’t.

This goodbye was the hardest thing. We’ve all said goodbye to each other so many times, for breaks and summer, but those goodbyes were really just “see you later”s and this goodbye is for real. There are some people that I will never see again. Some of the people that I have gotten the closest to over the last 4 years, some friends that have become family, I most likely won’t see until someone gets married. That’s scary, but it’s exciting as well.

I’ve learned so much from these people and have so many things that I’m taking with me into my post-grad life. I can’t wait to see what you guys do, what we do.

One thought on “See ya later…

  1. J E N N I F E R says:

    Hey Whitney!

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

Leave a Reply

