Palouse Falls

I have never seen a place that is beautiful no matter what. My first encounter with Palouse Falls was actually through a friend. She got engaged there and the incredibly talented Andrew Kearns took the most incredible images. I knew I needed to go there.

Palouse Falls

I finally took advantage of being on the East side of the state this last January. I was taking a travel journalism and got the opportunity to finally explore the place I called home for three years.

Palouse Falls was tricky to get to in the winter, given my lack of winter driving experience. Check out the story for that class here. It was beautiful, but I knew I wanted to get back out and see it in the sun as well.

While I was in town for graduation I decided that as a part of saying goodbye to Spokane, there were a few places I needed to visit. The Bowl and Pitcher, which is my favorite, obviously had to be one of them, along with multiple trips to Indaba.

I ended up driving to Palouse Falls on a gorgeous sunny day and picked up my best friend on the way. We made the sunny drive in less than an hour and a half, which was much better time than the snowy conditions we drove it in January.

It was incredible. Like I mention in the January blog, most of the trails around Palouse Falls are not maintained. There is a giant sign that reminds you of this. Luckily, Maddi and I did not have to sneak through a hole in a fence like we did in January because, though they are not maintained, they were open.

What you should know about my friend Maddi is that she is probably the most adventurous person that I know. She scampered up and down and all around trails that could only loosely be defined as such, all in a skirt! We explored around for a bit and took tons of pictures. The views are expansive and overwhelming.

I decided to try and catch the sunset here on my way out of town and ended up with a sweet speeding ticket as a result. The view was still incredible, the ticket not so much. This spot is great for adventurous hikers, but is also great for those who don’t want to put in a ton of work to see how incredible nature can be.

Take note, you do need a Discover Pass for this hike and most of the hikes on the East side of the state. Hikes on the West side tend to require the Northwest Forest. More information on that can be found here.

 

Leave a Reply

