Might as well…

LAKE SERENE and BRIDAL VEIL FALLS“Might as well” is the reason I decided to do Bridal Veil Falls and Lake Serene in one day. After hiking Wallace falls the day before. My legs hated me, but I loved it. This hike was quite the adventure. It essentially kicked my butt in the best way possible. I learned the meaning of a fun word called a “switchback,” and by fun, I mean tortuous.

The walk up to Bridal Veil falls starts off easy enough, it’s a steady enough incline, you cross some little creeks. I went on a Tuesday afternoon, making the scenic drive out. It was a beautiful day. Spring definitely came early to the Pacific Northwest and I, for one, am not complaining.

About 1.7 miles up the trail, there is a sign that forks the trail. One way leads you up to Bridal Veil Falls and the other takes you 1.5 hellish miles up to Lake Serene. I meandered up to Bridal Veil Falls first. It. Was. Incredible. I sat and ate my lunch at the edge of the falls. I swear it made the sandwich taste better. After exploring the falls for a bit, I walked back to the fork and stood there for a bit. Going in to this hike I had gone back and forth on Lake Serene.

The WTA hike description said that it was only another 1.5 miles up to the lake. I hemmed and hawed for a few minutes before deciding: “might as well…”

It was the longest 1.5 miles of my life

Switchbacks are these things where you essentially climb a mountain for a couple dozen yards, and then you turn and climb a mountain for another couple of dozen yards and so on and so forth forever.

Before starting the switchbacks, you get this incredible view of the base of the falls. Then you climb a damn mountain, and it’s totally worth it. I foolishly wore my swimsuit because I thought “lake” meant “swimming,” but the lake was about 90% covered in snow at the time, so that was a no-go.

It was still absolutely breathtaking and I highly recommend it. I later learned that people sometimes do the logical thing and do Bridal Veil Falls and Lake Serene separately. So, that’s an option if 8.2 miles of incline is intimidating to you. It should have been to me.  If you’re like me, you’ll probably decide that you just might as well. That works too.

 

Leave a Reply

