Why planes don’t make sense to me…and it’s a good thing.

I love airplanes. I love airports. I love travelling and adventures and going new places, but I hate packing. If you know me, you know how much I loathe packing. I hate it with an unabated passion and I generally leave it until the very last minute, foolishly hoping that it will simply go away and I can go on my adventures without the worry.

I have a dream that one day I will take a trip and just buy all of the things I need when I get there, and then get rid of them before I need to come back. THINK ABOUT HOW FREE I WOULD BE. I realize how silly that dream is, but you need to realize how much I hate packing.

11401179_874620025942990_7111954505096957274_n

However, as much as I hate packing, I love travelling and I love airports and airplanes. I don’t understand airplanes at all. I know that there is a lot science involved, lots of physics and engineering and I’m sure it could all be explained and it still wouldn’t make sense to me. (Another thing like that is condensation. It’s been explained to me many times and I’m sure it’s not smart of me to admit, but I am secure in my intelligence in a variety of other areas, so I don’t mind admitting that I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE WATER IS ON THE OUTSIDE WHEN IT GETS COLD).

Back to airplanes, I do not understand how something that weighs thousands of pounds is able to get off the ground and stay in the air. I am in awe every time I fly. On this recent adventure (aka my trip home for Olivia’s graduation and our family vacation to Arizona), I had a window seat for all of my flights. I flew from Spokane to Seattle for Liv’s graduation, then from Seattle to Phoenix and on my return flights from Phoenix to Salt Lake and onto Spokane. I got a beautiful aerial tour of the Grand Canyon on my flight out. Anyway, airplanes don’t make sense to me. I spent most of my flights staring out the window as we flew, this mammoth chunk of metal, plastic and whatever planes are made of, filled with all of these people all headed to different destinations, HURLING THROUGH CLOUDS.

I don’t understand why planes fly, but I trust and believe that they do and they will. I know that sometimes they face bumps, I’ve been in planes with some pretty fierce turbulence. It can be scary, but still, they fly. I realized that I think about my faith a lot like I think about flying. I pray, I read my Bible, I went (and still go) to a Christian school, heck, I was pastor’s kid, but there are still so many things I don’t understand about God.

IMG_7890

And I think that’s good because even though I don’t understand why he does things or how he does things, I know and I trust that he is good. I’ve faced turbulence in my faith (see my flying metaphor…it works!) I’ve had trying times and moments of hardship and doubt, but God has always come through for me. I don’t know what he wants with me or where I’m going, but I trust that he’ll prepare me and he’ll help me get there. I don’t need to look for all the answers because I don’t need them. I don’t need to know why or how the plane flies because I don’t need to. I trust that I’ll get where I need to go.

I understand that sometimes planes crash or malfunction and I don’t know why that happens. Sometimes good people have bad things happen to them and I don’t know why that happens. Those are hard questions. Planes fly and God moves in my life and that is enough for me. I don’t need all of the answers, the mystery is sometimes scary, but I have found that God provides.

One thought on “Why planes don’t make sense to me…and it’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

