Dear Mom…

I remember having to do assignments like this in elementary school. I would rhyme silly things and draw things. I don’t remember that they made any sense, but I know you’ve kept a couple of them.

Disneyland

Disneyland

Mom, you are the strongest person that I know. You don’t like to share a lot, but I’ve heard your stories and you have faced challenges that I have never dreamed of with grace.

I know that I am the person that I am today largely because of you.

Especially since I have been in college, you have become one of my closest friends and confidantes. We talk almost every day. Partially because we’re both bored, partially because I know you’ll answer the phone when I call and you’ll listen.

601307_2895769609348_1833537840_n

You have one of the coolest jobs in the world and I know you love it. You have shown me how important it is to find what God wants you to do. As I get closer and closer to graduating college, that is something that is always on the forefront of my mind.

I’m sorry for all of high school. I was angsty, moody and generally a mess. You put up with all of it.

Also DIsney I think...

Also Disney I think…

I don’t tell you enough how much I appreciate you. You are sassy and confident. I appreciate how much you challenge me.

I probably wouldn’t be able to tell you this in person, we both know that we don’t work like that, but I’m also pretty sure you’re the only person who reads my blog.

You will always be my emergency contact and the first person I call. When something good 11054396_829359087135751_881425857392986035_nhappens or something bad happens, I know you will be there to listen and encourage me.

Throughout my life, you have been at one time or another my chauffer, chef, confidante, teacher, leader and friend. I love that I get to be so close to you.

My mom is gorgeous.

My mom is gorgeous.

Your strong faith has been a huge example to me. You love dad and you love us with grace even, or especially, when we do not deserve it. You are a strong woman of God and I love that I get to be your daughter.

Thank you for everything you have done for me.

Your favorite,

Whitney Carter

One thought on “Dear Mom…

  1. Nicole Monroe says:

    Fact…
    Your big cousin reads your blog too
    Fact…
    auntie Kari is pretty awesome… Always has been
    Fact…
    You, Whitney Carter, are a beautifully crafted creation! Auntie Kari is blessed to have you as a first born! You are an inspiration, even to me your older cousin! I can’t wait to see what’s in store for you after college!

    Love you,
    Nicole miss Monroe (as Uncle Tony would say it lol)

Leave a Reply

