Abundance.

blog27

This week, I want to talk about abundance.

In my Women in Politics class last week we had a guest speaker. (Also, I love my Women in Politics class. I could talk politics for hours. If you want an earful, ask me what I think about Hillary’s announcement and the upcoming election season. I have a lot of thoughts.)

Anyway, our guest speaker was Rev. Dr. Amy K. Butler from the historic Riverside Church in New York City. The church was founded by John Rockefeller and many incredible people have spoken there including some of my personal heroes: Martin Luther King Jr. and Nelson Mandela. Butler is the seventh pastor and the first woman pastor of this church.

I have never had a guest speaker where I walked away so filled and hopeful. Butler said something that inspired this post. She talked about abundance and ministry.

She mentioned that we always have enough to do God’s work where we are at and that so much of it rests on even the language we use.

Simply put, are we able to speak with the language of abundance or are we speaking with the language of scarcity?

I looked up the dictionary definition of abundance in preparation for this post. It’s a pretty cool word. This is what Webster had for me:

Full Definition of ABUNDANCE

1

:  an ample quantity :  profusion (a great deal)

2

:  affluence, wealth

3

:  relative degree of plentifulness

I love the last one. “A relative degree of plentifulness.” Because, isn’t that exactly what we have?

I find that I often speak with the language of scarcity. I worry about paying for school, paying back my loans, having time to do homework, having time to fit a million things in. When I talk about any of these things and many other things, it comes from a place of worry, a place where there is not enough.

That being said, and as much as I ignore it, I definitely have “A relative degree of plentifulness.”

Let’s unpack that a bit.

In my lowest moments, when I’m trying to figure out where the money for this textbook is coming from, when I’m trying to figure out when I’ll find the time to write this paper, do that assignment, whatever, I have a relative degree of plentifulness.

I have travelled all over the world and have seen true poverty. After that, how can I view any aspect of my life as anything less than plentiful? I forget it sometimes. Actually, I forget it a lot of the time. I am so blessed and privileged by a God who provides, by a family who supports and by a community that encourages.

My life is abundant even when I do not recognize it.

 

 

One thought on “Abundance.

Leave a Reply

