Today, I went on a hike…

Celebrating holidays apart my family is always different. It’s always a little sad; I miss them more over holidays.  This year, I celebrated this holiday surrounded by friends, new and old, and have had an amazing weekend.  We decided to go on a hike today. I took my camera along because it’s always fun to be able to shoot things off campus and I definitely need more practice with it.

Sign at the Bowl and Pitcher

Sign at the Bowl and Pitcher

As we walked and I started to shoot, I found myself drawn to all of these small moments. I loved the way the light hit this leaf on the side of the path, this small purple flower surrounded by grey wood, a pause, a look by someone as they walked along.

Too often I am overwhelmed by the big picture. I get swallowed by the grand scheme of things, the overall plan. While I think it is wise to be mindful of the future and to prepare accordingly, I struggle with being in and enjoying the moment.

blog7

I had my final adviser meeting last week to prepare for class registration and my wonderful adviser who as counselled and helped me since day one told me a quote that I needed. I forget who it was and I might be butchering it, but it was something along the lines of:

“Prepare the tools and God will provide the work.” 

blog8

I’m in this place where graduation is right around the corner (I’ll be done after fall semester) and I’m spending so much time thinking about what’s next. I spend all this time stressing about the future and thinking about how what I’m doing now is preparing me for the rest of my life, I forget to focus on the adventure that is my life right now.

blog6

I am so overwhelmed by the forest; I’m missing the beauty among the trees.

On this day especially, I want to take the time to just dwell. On the hike, I was struck by the simple beauty of nature and how there is life and beauty even in the harshest moments and environments. God tells us not worry and that he’s got a plan. His plan is a million times better than anything I could come up with, so I’m just ready for the adventure.

blog12 blog16

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

                Matthew 6:34

blog22

Bre giving us an impromptu anatomy lesson.

Bre giving us an impromptu anatomy lesson.

blog35

God’s grace is abundant even, and probably especially, in my weakness and failings. Grace has always been my favorite aspect of Christianity and it’s such an amazing thing to dwell on today. Jesus died so we could be forgiven, so we could access that amazing grace, even though we have done absolutely nothing to deserve it. What a simple, beautiful truth. That’s the moment I’m focusing on today. Tomorrow’s worries will come tomorrow.

blog11

Adventure is out there.

blog15

blog17

blog18

blog23

blog26

blog27

blog28

blog32

Leave a Reply

