An open letter to my freshman self during her first week of school…

I just ended the first week of my senior year, which is crazy to me. I cannot believe how far I’ve come and how fast all this has been. I’ll be graduating from Whitworth University in December which has got me feeling all kinds of sentimental. That is where this comes in. I wanted to look back on all of the memories and compile something; we’ll see where this goes.

1. Breathe.

I feel like this is an obvious one, breathing comes naturally with the whole being alive thing, but I mean a little bit more than that. Every now and then, don’t forget to take a breath. Look around and see where you are. You worked so incredibly hard to get here, take some time to enjoy the moments, they’ll be over and done before you know it.

  1. Push yourself.

Try new things, join random clubs, and show up to random events. One of my favorite college memories was going to a film festival that was held on campus with a group of friends. There were like 30 people in the giant teaching theater, but it was so much fun.

  1. Your professors do not hate you.

(Even though it feels like it sometimes.) These people are rooting for you. They will push you and challenge you because they believe in you. I had professors that frustrated me. I would come back to my room and vent to my roommate about how exasperated I was with this professor or the other, but when I would go see them during office hours or get a note back on a paper, I would realize how much they actually cared and wanted me to succeed. Side note, USE OFFICE HOURS, professors have them for a reason, THEY WANT TO HELP YOU.

  1. You will have really crappy days…

…and really good ones! I remember one time when I lost a paper I had been up til 2 in the morning working one. I literally threw my shoe at the wall. I also had days where I was just killing it with my homework and everything was falling into place. Take the good with the bad and don’t get bogged down.

  1. Don’t get overwhelmed by the syllabus.

This one is hard for me to remember. At the beginning of every semester I get a new stack of syllabuses with all of the assignments, projects and tests that I will have during the course of the semester. It is incredibly hard not to look at all of those things and break down in tears. Remember that it will not all happen at once. Those assignments will come one day at a time and your professors know what there are doing. They won’t be piling it on if you have not learned the necessary things to be successful (see number 3).

That’s all I got. Have fun, don’t take yourself too seriously, make friends and remember that this time will be over before you know it, so no regrets.

Leave a Reply

